Print and electronic sources for comparative administrative law research at the Taggart Law Library
Last Updated: Oct 10, 2016
United States Code (USC): Conducting U.S. statutory research in the United States Code (USC) may also be helpful. Arranged topically with 51 titles, there are two annotated versions of the United States Code, United States Code Annotated (USCA—burgundy in color) and United States Code Service (USCS—black). They are produced by different publishers and can differ in the annotations they provide, so it’s a good idea to check both sets.
Statutes may be found by using the index volumes at the end of the set to find what you need, or there are volumes listing acts by popular name (Violence Against Women Act, etc.).
Federal statutory and legislative material can also be found online in the following places:
Subscription database containing federal statutory materials, including the United States Code Service (ONU Law School patrons only)
- ProQuest Congressional
Subscription database offering access to a variety of congressional publications, including laws, bills, hearings, documents, and reports (formerly known as Congressional Universe)
Federal legislative information made freely available to the public; especially useful for tracking recent legislation and Congressional information.
- U.S. Code (HeinOnline)
Includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. Also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code (ONU Law patrons only).
- U.S. Code (Legal Information Institute)
Freely available text of the U.S. Code; also includes a Popular Name Table and Parallel Table of Authorities.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Subscription database that provides searchable and browsable full-text page images of the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. House and Senate from 1817-1980
- U.S. Statutes at Large (HeinOnline)
Includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, and features multiple browsing and searching options (ONU Law patrons only).
Subscription database containing federal statutory materials, including the United States Code Annotated (ONU Law School patrons only)
State codes: Annotated state codes work very much like the federal codes, but may have a different topical organization. The Taggart Law Library has state codes for all 50 states in the state materials section on the south side.