This is the "Books" page of the "American Legal History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Legal History   Tags: legal history  

Print and electronic resources for legal history research at the Taggart Law Library
Last Updated: Nov 28, 2016 URL: http://lawlibguides.onu.edu/legal_history Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Subject Headings

Sometimes by browsing the stacks in a particular area, you can find something better than what you were originally looking for!  Here are some selected subject headings for American legal history:

Research Guides/Bibliographies

Sometimes helpful research sources for a particular area of the law have already been pulled together by someone else.  Examples of print and electronic research guides and bibliographies on legal history include:

Encyclopedias/ALRs

Encyclopedias: Legal encyclopedias provide general overviews of legal topics and references to other research materials. These encyclopedias will have a subject index to help you find entries by topic.  For example, if you wanted to look up the topic “Affirmative Action” in the index, it might lead you to the encyclopedia’s article entitled “Schools and Education,” which you could then look up in the appropriate encyclopedia volume.

A.L.R. Annotations: Experts in a particular area of the law write the annotations, or articles, found in American Law Reports. They usually focus on a very narrow area of the law and can provide case citations and references to other secondary sources.  Annotations can be found topically using the index or from citations found in other secondary sources.  Looking up the topic “Fourteenth Amendment” in the index, for example, would lead you to an annotation titled “Disenfranchisement,” 10 A.L.R.6th 31.

 

Selected Treatises

Cover Art
America on Trial - Alan M. Dershowitz
Call Number: KF 220.D368 2004—Law North
ISBN: 0446520586
Publication Date: 2004-05-14

Cover Art
The Cambridge History of Law in America - Michael Grossberg (Editor); Christopher L. Tomlins (Editor)
Call Number: KF 352.C26 2008—Law North
ISBN: 9780521803052
Publication Date: 2008-04-28

Cover Art
A History of American Law - Lawrence M. Friedman
Call Number: KF 352.A7 K5—Law North
ISBN: 0684869888
Publication Date: 2005-03-15

Cover Art
Law in American History - G. Edward White
Call Number: KF 352.W48 2012—Law North
ISBN: 9780195102475
Publication Date: 2012-02-20

Cover Art
The Magic Mirror - Kermit L. Hall; Peter Karsten
Call Number: KF 352.H35 2009—Law North
ISBN: 0195081803
Publication Date: 2008-05-16

Cover Art
Spirit of American Law - George S. Grossman
Call Number: KF 351.S68 2000—Law North
ISBN: 0813367824
Publication Date: 2000-01-12

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip