Print and electronic sources for law of war research at the Taggart Law Library
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2014
When using the Internet for research, be sure to carefully evaluate the websites you are using to determine how authoritative they are and any potential bias they may have on the topic you are researching.
- Air War College—Military Law and Legal Links
Topically organized links to many military law subjects, including the law of war, war crimes, and much more.
- American University Washington College of Law—War Crimes Research Office
Information about various war crimes courts and tribunals, with research links organized by topic and by country
- The Center on Law and Security
Sponsored by the New York University School of Law, this center is “committed to promoting an informed understanding of the legal and security issues defining the post 9/11 era.” Website contains a variety of publications, including the “Rule of Law Series” and the “Terrorist Trial Report Card.”
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Database available through the library’s Subscription Services page, produced by Columbia University; publishes a variety of scholarship on international affairs, including working papers, conference proceedings, books, journals, and policy briefs.
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Collection of reports by CRS, a congressional support agency, which primarily address national security and foreign policy issues.
- Crimes of War Project
Non-profit organization dedicated to education and awareness of international humanitarian law and the laws of war; website includes a topically organized bibliography and links to other resources.
- Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL)
Electronic portal provided by the American Society of International Law. Links to primary and secondary sources organized topically.
- Institute for National Security and Counterterrorism (INSCT)
Sponsored by Syracuse University, this institute is a “multidisciplinary, university-based center for the study of national and international security and terrorism." Website includes some publications and links to other security-related organizations.
- International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)
International organization ensuring humanitarian protection and assistance for victims of war and armed violence; site has a great deal of information on humanitarian law, including treaties and customary law.
- International Humanitarian Law Research Initiative
Website produced through the Harvard University School of Public Health; contains an E-Library with links to many online documents, including judicial decisions, legal instruments, news, reports and analysis, and more. Library is searchable by date, region, or keyword.
- LLMC Digital
Database available through the library’s Subscription Services page. Contains digitized document collections of U.S., foreign, and international law, as well as a subject collection of military law materials.
- Military Legal Resources
Resource page provided by the Library of Congress, including links to historical manuals, regulations, monographs, and periodicals.
- Nazi War Crimes and Japanese Imperial Government Records Interagency Working Group (IWG)
Maintained by the National Archives; the IWG locates, identifies, and recommends for declassification U.S. government records concerning World War II crimes.
- Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
Institute that conducts research on questions of conflict and cooperation of importance for international peace and security. Website includes links to research, publications, and databases, including Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST), a country profiles database with 38 different tables.
- World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
Free access to worldwide law; information organized by country, region, and subject (including human rights, international law, and military law)