Guide to print and electronic resources for rule of law research at the Taggart Law Library
Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017
When using the Internet for research, be sure to carefully evaluate the websites you are using to determine how authoritative they are and any potential bias they may have on the topic you are researching.
- American Bar Association (ABA) Rule of Law Initiative
A public service project of the ABA dedicated to promoting the rule of law around the world. Website contains a variety of geographically and topically organized information and publications.
- Center on Democracy, Development, and the Rule of Law (CDDRL):
This research center at Stanford University seeks to “…promote innovative and practical research on the design and implementation of policies to foster democracy, to promote balanced and sustainable growth, and to advance the rule of law in countries undergoing dramatic change.” Website contains news, research, and other publications.
- Comparative Constitutions Project (CCP)
In cooperation with the Cline Center for Democracy at the University of Illinois, the CCP's intent is to investigate the sources and consequences of constitutional choices by collecting data on the formal characteristics of written constitutions, both current and historical, for most independent states since 1789.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Website sponsored by the Institute of Development Studies at the University of Sussex seeking to “…share the best in development policy, practice, and research.” Contains over 26,000 documents all available for free download, including topical resource guides and country profiles.
- International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES)
An international NGO specializing in democracy development and election assistance. Website contains a variety of research and publications.
- Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR)
Office within the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) that is active in the areas of election observation, democratic development, human rights, tolerance and non-discrimination, and the rule of law. Website includes a variety of documents and publications in these areas.
- Open Society Justice Initiative
A program of the Open Society Institute, this organization “…pursues law reform activities grounded in the protection of human rights, and contributes to the development of legal capacity for open societies worldwide.” Website contains a variety of publications and resources in such areas as criminal justice reform, freedom of information, and others.
- The World Justice Project
An independent, non-profit organization which seeks to develop communities of opportunity and equity by advancing the rule of law worldwide. Website includes the Rule of Law Index, an assessment tool for measuring countries' adherence to rule of law principles, as well as other research and scholarship.
- Transparency International
A global civil society organization fighting against corruption; website includes a variety of information, including regionally organized pages, policy and research, tools, and publications.
- World Bank Law, Justice and Development
Topical resource page from the World Bank with information about justice for the poor, law and justice institutions, and more. Website contains a variety of tools and publications, including a variety of data.
The International Labor Organization (ILO) maintains NATLEX--a database of national labor, social security, and human rights legislation. The database currently contains over 65,000 records, covering more than 190 countries. Records are provided in only one of the ILO's official languages, which are English, Spanish, and French. NATLEX is browsable by country and subject, and there is also an "Advanced Search" function available.
- WIPO Lex
Part of the World Intellectual Property Organization's website, this is an international database of IP laws and treaties. The database is searchable by country and subject. Some English translations are available.