This is the "Regulations" page of the "Women and the Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women and the Law   Tags: gender, law, women  

Print and electronic resources for research on women and the law at the Taggart Law Library
Last Updated: May 29, 2014 URL: http://lawlibguides.onu.edu/women_and_law Print Guide RSS Updates

Regulations Print Page
  Search: 
 

Federal Regulations

Administrative regulations are very similar to statutes, except they are produced by administrative agencies (e.g. the Food and Drug Administration--FDA) instead of legislatures.  There are two main sources for federal administrative regulations:

  • Code of Federal Regulations (CFR): Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government.  The CFR is organized into 50 titles, which represent broad subject areas.  Regulations concerning public lands, for example, are contained in Title 43 of the CFR.  The CFR publishes its own index, and there is now a multi-volume index to the CFR published by West.
  • Federal Register (FR):  The official daily publication for the Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents.  The Federal Register is also the place to find agency contact information.  The Federal Register has monthly and annual indexes in print to find materials by agency or subject.

The CFR and Federal Register are available online in the following places:

  • CFR (HeinOnline)
    Exact page images of the CFR from 1938 to present.
  • e-CFR
    Currently updated, but unofficial, version of the CFR; updated daily by the Office of the Federal Register and the Government Printing Office.
  • Federal Digital System (FDSys)
    Site maintained by the Government Printing Office (GPO); contains the CFR from 1996-present and Federal Register from 1994-present.
  • Federal Register
    Unofficial site maintained by the Office of the Federal Register; provides ability to search Federal Register from 1994-present by citation or keyword, or browse by agency or topic.
  • Federal Register (HeinOnline)
    Exact page images from volumes and annual indexes from 1936-present.
  • LEXIS
    Subscription database containing current and historical CFR from 1981-present and Federal Register from 1936-present (ONU Law School patrons only).
  • Westlaw
    Subscription database containing current and historical CFR from 1984-present and Federal Register 1936-present (ONU Law School patrons only).

State Regulations

Agency Documents

Documents of state and federal administrative agencies may also be useful sources in your research.  The law library has collections of selected federal government documents in print, microform, and online formats.  They can be found by searching POLAR by keyword, title, or author (by using the specific agency or department name as the author--e.g., United States Department of Agriculture).  Government documents in print and microform can be found on the north side of the library.

Lexis and Westlaw also have databases of selected agency documents.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip