Print and electronic resources for research on women and the law at the Taggart Law Library
Last Updated: May 29, 2014
When using the Internet for research, be sure to carefully evaluate the sites you are using to determine how authoritative they are and any potential bias they may have on the topic you are researching.
- ABA Commission on Women in the Profession
Commission whose purpose is to “secure the full and equal participation of women in the ABA, the legal profession, and the justice system.” Site includes publications, statistics, and links to further information.
- ACLU—Women’s Rights
Website of the American Civil Liberties Union’s Women’s Rights Project. Site includes resources and publications dealing with such topics as criminal justice, discrimination, violence against women, education, employment, poverty and welfare, and pregnancy and parenting.
- American Women
Part of the Library of Congress’s American Memory project, this site serves as a “gateway” to the study of women’s history and culture in the United States. Includes a link to resources available through the Law Library of Congress.
- Department of Justice Office on Violence Against Women
The OVW provides federal leadership in developing the nation’s capacity to reduce violence against women and administer justice for and strengthen services to victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking.
- Department of Labor Women’s Bureau
The Women's Bureau develops policies and standards and conducts inquiries to safeguard the interests of working women; to advocate for their equality and economic security for themselves and their families; and to promote quality work environments.
- Department of State Office of Global Women’s Issues
The Office of Global Women’s Issues works to promote stability, peace, and development by empowering women politically, socially, and economically around the world.
- Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.
- HG.org: Women and the Law
Legal directory with links to many online resources dealing with women and the law, including the U.S. Constitution, treaties and other international materials
- International Women’s Human Rights and Humanitarian Law
Website produced by the Bora Laskin Law Library at the University of Toronto which includes links to international treaties and conventions and other resources dealing with women’s rights in international law.
- Law about…Feminist Jurisprudence
Overview of feminist jurisprudence produced by Cornell University’s Legal Information Institute (LII); includes links to the U.S. Constitution, judicial decisions, and other resources.
- Legal Momentum
The new name for the National Organization for Women’s (NOW) Legal Defense and Education Fund. Legal Momentum seeks to “advance the rights of women and girls by using the power of the law and creating innovative public policy.” Includes publications and information on a wide range of topics concerning women, including information on actions the organization is supporting in the courts and in Congress.
- National Women’s Law Center
A nonprofit organization that seeks “to protect and advance the progress of women and girls at work, in school, and in virtually every aspect of their lives.” Includes information on issues ranging from athletics and employment to women in the military.
Website designed to provide state-by-state legal information and resources on domestic violence.
Website produced by the UN which contains a wealth of information and resources on gender equality and the empowerment of women.
- Women’s Legal History Biography Project
Website produced by Stanford Law School that uses biographies of individual women lawyers to examine the subject of women’s legal history; includes links to articles and other information about women lawyers.