This is the "Books" page of the "First Amendment Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

First Amendment Law  

Print and electronic resources for First Amendment research at the Taggart Law Library
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014 URL: http://lawlibguides.onu.edu/first_amendment Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Subject Headings

Sometimes by browsing the stacks in a particular area, you can find something better than what you were originally looking for!  Here are some selected subject headings for the First Amendment:

Research Guides/Bibliographies

Sometimes helpful research sources for a particular area of the law have already been pulled together by someone else.  Examples of research guides and bibliiographies on the First Amendment include the following:

Encyclopedias/ALRs

Encyclopedias: Legal encyclopedias provide general overviews of legal topics and references to other research materials. These encyclopedias will have a subject index to help you find entries by topic.  For example, if you wanted to look up the topic “First Amendment” in the index, it might lead you to the encyclopedia’s article on “Constitutional Law" which you could then look up in the appropriate encyclopedia volume.

A.L.R. Annotations: Experts in a particular area of the law write the annotations, or articles, found in American Law Reports. They usually focus on a very narrow area of the law and can provide case citations and references to other secondary sources.  Annotations can be found topically using the index or from citations found in other secondary sources.

 

Selected Treatises

Cover Art
Constitutional Law: Individual Rights - Allan Ides
Call Number: KF 4749.I34 2010--Law Reserve
ISBN: 9780735588257
Publication Date: 2009-11-17

Cover Art
Constitutional Law: Principles and Policies - Chemerinsky
Call Number: KF 4550.C245 2011--Law Reserve
ISBN: 9780735598973
Publication Date: 2011-05-23
General constitutional law treatise with chapters on freedom of expression and freedom of religion.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment - David Hudson; David Schultz (Editor); John R. Vile
Call Number: KF 4770.E53 2009--Law North
ISBN: 9780872893115
Publication Date: 2008-09-25

Cover Art
First Amendment - Daniel A. Farber
Call Number: KF 4770.F37 1998--Law North
ISBN: 1566626110
Publication Date: 1998-12-01

Cover Art
First Amendment in a Nutshell - Jerome A. Barron; C. Thomas Dienes
Call Number: KF 4770.Z9 B37 2008--Law Reserve
ISBN: 0314177361
Publication Date: 2008-09-26

Cover Art
Modern Constitutional Law - William Rich; Chester James Antieau
Call Number: KF 4550.A58 2011--Law North
ISBN: 9780314935700
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Multi-volume treatise on constitutional law with sections on speech, association, and religion.

Cover Art
Treatise on Constitutional Law: Substance and Procedure - Ronald D. Rotunda and John E. Nowak
Call Number: KF 4550.R69 2012--Law North
Publication Date: 2012-13
Multi-volume treatise on constitutional law; volume 5 deals with freedom of speech and volume 6 deals with freedom of religion. Also available on Westlaw.

Cover Art
Understanding the First Amendment - Russell L. Weaver; Donald E. Lively
Call Number: KF 4770.W43 2009--Law North
ISBN: 9781422470183
Publication Date: 2009-07-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip