Last Updated: Aug 29, 2014
When using the Internet for research, be sure to carefully evaluate the websites you are using to determine how authoritative they are and any potential bias they may have on the topic you are researching.
- American Constitution Society (ACS)
ACS is a progressive nonprofit legal organization that promotes the U.S. Constitutional values of "individual rights and liberties, genuine equality, access to justice, democracy and the rule of law;" website includes information on constitutional issues, publications, news, and more.
- American Memory, Government & Law (Library of Congress)
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. Government and law collections include Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention Documents, Slavery and the Law, and a Century of Lawmaking: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875.
- Constitutional Law: An Overview
Overview of constitutional law provided by the Legal Information Institute (LII) at Cornell University; includes links to federal, state, and international materials.
- CRS Annotated Constitution
Electronic version of the CRS Annotated Constitution provided by the Legal Information Institute (LII) at Cornell Law School.
- Founders' Constitution
Joint project of the University of Chicago Press and the Liberty Fund; arranged by constitutional provision and provides excerpts from debates and articles as well as court decisions and commentaries. Also available in print at KF4502.F68 2000--Law North
- The American Constitution--A Documentary Record
Part of the Avalon Project at Yale Law School; provides links to primary source documents related to the Constitution.
- The Federalist Society
The Federalist Society is a conservative nonprofit organization "founded on the principles that the state exists to preserve freedom, that the separation of governmental powers is central to our Constitution, and that it is emphatically the province and duty of the judiciary to say what the law is, not what it should be;" website includes publications, multimedia, a blog, and more.
- Theories of Constitutional Interpretation
Web page maintained by Prof. Doug Linder of the UMKC School of Law as part of his Exploring Constitutional Law website.
- United States Law Week
Current reports tracking the most significant cases and key legislative, regulatory, and pre-decisional developments across the country and all areas of the law. Features in-depth coverage of the U.S. Supreme Court. (Subscription database provided by the Law Library)